, , , , , , , , ,

It’s that time of year again when the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia announces which BC wines will be given awards to honour excellence in the wine industry. These awards were established in 2003 and each year the Lieutenant Governor will visit the winning wineries to present the awards. This year, the Honourable Judith Guichon, Lieutenant Governor of BC, will be visiting the wineries later this month, along with Members of the Consular Corps of British Columbia. Local dignitaries and press will also be in attendance at each winery’s award ceremony.

The winners of the 2013 Awards for Excellence in BC Wine are (in alphabetical order):

Burrowing Owl Estate Winery – 2010 Cabernet Franc

Calona Vineyards – 2011 Artist Series Pinot Noir

Church & State Wines – 2010 Coyote Bowl Syrah

Eau Vivre Winery – 2010 Pinot Noir

Hester Creek Estate Winery – 2010 Block 3 Reserve Cabernet Franc

Inniskillin Okanagan Vineyards Winery – 2011 Riesling Icewine

Red Rooster Winery – 2012 Reserve Viognier & 2010 Reserve Syrah (2 awards)

Stag’s Hollow Winery – 2010 Cachet No. 03 Limited Edition

Stoneboat Vineyards – 2010 Pinot Noir

Synchromesh Wines – 2011 Storm Haven Vineyard Riesling

Wild Goose Vineyards and Winery – 2012 Mystic River Vineyard Pinot Blanc

I’d like to wish a big congratulations to all the winning wineries and their winemakers! I have been fortunate enough to taste the vast majority of these winning wines and they are indeed fine specimens of what the BC Wine Industry can produce.