Tags

, , ,

In the morning I’m off on a road trip down to Portland, Oregon, to attend the 3rd Annual Wine Tourism Conference. I’m looking forward to finding out more about how wine tourism and agri-tourism are handled in other areas around North America.

There is a pre-conference excursion organized for those who wish to sign up for it but as it starts further south, in Eugene, and I’m driving down instead of flying I opted out. Instead, I will be touring several wineries in the Willamette Valley, to the southwest of Portland, on the Wednesday. I hope to visit Hawks View Cellars, Blakeslee Vineyard Estate, Adelsheim Vineyards, Bergström Wines, Domaine Drouhin, Sokol Blosser Winery and Stoller Vineyards. It may be a bit ambitious to fit them all in but I hope to make the most of my day out there.  The conference begins on Wednesday evening with a trade show and wine reception sponsored by Touring & Tasting. Here I look forward to discovering wines from across the continent. The detailed agenda for the conference can be found on the Wine Tourism Conference website. I think that this will be a great event to meet new people in the industry, as well as to gain a better understanding of all aspects of wine tourism.

Following the conference, there is the inaugural Great American Wine Festival taking place at the same venue as the Wine Tourism Conference. It is also partnered with the Northwest Food & Wine Festival; it should be a great day of food and wine all round!

