Tags

, , , ,

A few people have recently asked me to write some posts on tasting room etiquette as well as the subject of tasting fees. However, Luke from Wine Country BC beat me to the tasting fee subject and I think he has covered it beautifully so I would like to share it with you.

Wine Country BC

Tasting fees, and the online comments that result from them, are becoming an “issue” here in wine country. Each year it seems more wineries start to realize how much wine they give away and how much customers are coming to expect (or vociferously demand) free wine to taste. I’d like to just go over a few things that I’ve noticed lately, both as a consumer and as a professional currently working at a winery that happens to charge for tastings.

I currently work at a wine shop that happens to charge tasting fees. There are 3 different tasting options at 3 different prices and the fees pay for the wines and the wine professionals to pour it for you, tell you about the wines, and answer any of your questions. This all happens while you sit relaxed at your own table just like in a restaurant. The total amount of wine poured…

View original post 1,459 more words

