Tags

, , ,

I received some exciting news this past week – I had been named as one of the Wine Blogger Scholarship recipients, enabling me to attend the 2015 Wine Bloggers Conference in the Finger Lakes Region of New York next month! I am very thankful to all the donors of this scholarship program as I would otherwise not be able to attend this upcoming conference.images

In 2013 I attended my first ever Wine Bloggers Conference, held in Penticton, BC, followed a few months later by the Wine Tourism Conference, held in Portland, OR. At these two conferences I met many interesting people, learned a lot about the industry, and explored wines from new (to me) regions. I very much look forward to reconnecting with several of these people, meeting new friends and continuing to learn more about wine regions, new varietals and gaining more insight into wine blogging.

For those of you who may not be familiar with the Finger Lakes AVA, it is located to the south of Lake Ontario, east of Niagara, running between and south of the cities of Rochester & Syracuse.

map image from newyorkwines.org

map image from newyorkwines.org

It encompasses eleven glacial lakes, with most of the vineyards being located around four of those lakes: Canandaigua, Keuka, Seneca & Cayuga. The latter two have their own AVAs within the overall AVA. The Finger Lakes region is similar in size (as far as acreage planted) to BC, with between 10,000 and 11,000 acres planted to vine. Riesling does very well in the area, and many wineries produce a few different styles of Riesling, from dry with bracing acidity to sumptuous fruitier styles. Other varietals such as Gewürztraminer, Pinot Gris, Cabernet Franc, Pinot Noir and Lemburger (aka Blaufränkisch) are also planted, along with hybrid varietals. Sparkling wines, still wines, and Icewine are all produced in Finger Lakes.

As usual, the conference organizers, Zephyr Adventures, have a full agenda planned for the 3-day conference and I look forward to sharing my experiences here, as well as on Twitter and Instagram.

