I’m not usually one to re-blog posts, but Aaron was a good friend and colleague of mine at the BC Wine Info Centre for four years. I still can’t believe that he is gone. I will miss our great conversations, generally about wine since we’re both wine geeks, but all sorts of other things about life in general. The BC wine industry has indeed lost one of its most impassioned advocates and I will miss him greatly.

A celebration of life will be held this Friday, October 30th, 1-3pm at Poplar Grove Winery. Shuttle service will be available from the BC Wine Info Centre as there is limited parking at Poplar Grove. If you are unable to make it, please raise a glass to Aaron. Cheers!

Wine Country BC

DSC_7565 It is with a sad heart that I write this. The wine world is generally a very positive one filled with happy experiences around a shared bottle of wine or two. The loss ofone of those friends makes it all the more difficult.

The world lost Aaron Olfert on last weekend.Aaron and I worked together at the BC Wine Information Centre VQA store for the 3 years years that I was there from 2009 to 2011. He had been there since 2006 and continued to work there until his untimely passing. Regular customers appreciatedhis deep knowledge of B.C. wine. The many return visitors in that store knew him from there and recognized him when they came back. His personality filled the spaces between the thousands of bottles in that store. I first met him that way – as a customer looking to spend my birthday money on a nice bottle…

View original post 146 more words

